28 Sunday , November, 2021
Official Portal of Cairo Governorate
Top News

Cairo, Cradle of Civilizations

Cairo is the capital of Egypt and the largest city in Africa and the Middle East. Cairo bears witness to the greatness of Egypt’s heritage and its significant influence on humanity.

If you are interested in the pharaonic history, you cannot miss  Heliopolis, city of the sun. It is one of the oldest cities of Ancient Egypt.  While in Greek and Romanian Cairo you can sight-seeing Babylon Fortress.

As for Coptic Cairo, there is one of the oldest churches that is the Hanging Church. You can also see the famous Virgin Mary's tree where Virgin Mary and her son Jesus took shelter during their journey from Palestine to Egypt.

As for Islamic Cairo with its unique architecture style is manifested in its famous mosques, citadels built when Amr ibn El-Aas started the Islamic conquest on Egypt in 641 AD as he erected Amr Ibn El-Aas Mosque in Cairo.

Islamic Cairo used to be divided into three main cities which are Al-Fustat, Al-Askar, and Al-Qata’i established during the Abbasid Era. In Cairo you also cannot miss Al-Azhar Mosque and university which is a fundamental Islamic Monument founded by the Fatimid leader El -Mu’izz Ledin Allah.

Islamic Cairo is one of the most exceptional destinations for both visitors and citizens. It houses the most famous Islamic monuments including Citadel of Salah El-Din, Mausoleum of Sultan Barquq, Mosque, Mausoleum of Sultan al-Ashraf Qaitbay, Khan El Khalili, Al-Rifa'i Mosque, and El-Hussein Mosque.   

So, with its splendid and rich history Cairo becomes one of the most historic and touristic destination in Egypt and in the Middle East.

Cairo, Meaning and Origin

Cairo’s official name is al-Qāhirah which mean "the Vanquisher" or "the Conqueror" or "the Victorious". Cairo was founded by the Fatimid leader Jawhar al-Siqilli on orders of the Fatimid Caliph El-Mu’izz Ledin Allah to be the new capital for the Fatimid Dynasty. First, its name was Al-Mansuriyyah then it was changed to be Al-Qahira "Cairo" after the conqueror Planet "Mars" as it is known among the historians.  Cairo is known by many names such as "City of a Thousand Minarets" because of the abundance of the mosques in it and also "Qahirat El-Mu’izz".             

Cairo's National Day

Cairo celebrates its National Day on 6th of July which is  the day in which General Jawhar Al-Siqilli laid the foundation stone of Cairo in 969 AD 

Cairo's Logo

Al-Azhar Mosque Islam's Minaret and its platform in the whole world is the official logo of Cairo

Cairo location

Cairo city is located on the Eastern bank of the Nile and surrounded by Qalyubia province on the north and uninhabited desert on the south and the Giza province and the Nile River on the west.

Cairo is the largest city in Egypt and it is also part of the Greater Cairo that includes Cairo, Qalyubia and Giza.

Cairo, the largest city in Africa, is located on the Nile River, 160 kilometers (100 miles) inland from the Mediterranean Sea and 135 kilometers (80 miles) west of the Red Sea.   

The Administrative Division of Cairo

Cairo City consists of 4 areas divided into 38 districts:
The North Area divided to 8 Districts

The East Area divided to 9 Districts

The west Area divided to 9 Districts

The South Area divided to 12 Districts

Cairo also has three new cities which are New Cairo, El Shorouk and Badr City.